Cooper Foundation Elects Richard A. Knudsen Honorary Trustee

Richard_KnudsonHonoraryTrusteeJack Campbell, Chair of the Cooper Foundation, announced that Richard A. (Dick) Knudsen has been elected an honorary trustee of the board of trustees in recognition of his long and valuable service. Dick first became associated with the Foundation as a young attorney upon joining the law firm of Beghtol & Rankin in 1950. The law firm represented the Cooper Theatres starting in the 1920s, as well as the Cooper Foundation after Joseph H. Cooper formed it in 1934. And, in the late 1940’s, the firm played a major role in settling the estate of Joseph H. Cooper.

Mr. Knudsen was elected a partner in 1954, when the firm became known as Beghtol, Mason, Knudsen & Dickeson, and managing partner in 1971. He retired 1994 after a distinguished 40 year career, 23 of them as managing partner. Since then he has served the Foundation through advice and counsel and regular attendance at board meetings.

Mr. Knudsen chaired of the House of Delegates of the Nebraska State Bar Association, was president of the Lincoln and Nebraska State Bar Associations and the Nebraska State Bar Foundation, and a fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers. He was also a volunteer lawyer for the Nebraska State Bar’s Self Help Desk, which assists people representing themselves in navigating the legal system.

Mr. Knudsen joins a very short list of honorary trustees of the Cooper Foundation:

· Samuel C. Waugh, 1961
Upon his appointment as president of the Export/Import Bank under President Eisenhower.
· Art Raymond, 1961
President of Raymond Brothers Clarke wholesale grocers.
· Hermine Goldberg, 1965
Donor of theatre properties.
· Mel Glatz, 1979
Theatre designer important to the development of our Cinerama theatres and to theatre construction and remodeling after the mid 1960’s.
·J. Lee Rankin, 1984
Assistant Attorney General and Solicitor General of the United States.
·Woody Varner, 1998
Chancellor, Michigan State University, Oakland, Chancellor and then president of the University of Nebraska, president and chair of the University of Nebraska Foundation, founder and chair of the Mid America Arts Alliance.